Solomon’s Song Book Review

solomon

*** from the back cover*** (www.goodreads.com)

When drought and famine strike Judea, David’s people wonder if he has become too old to rule. Solomon and his mother, Bathsheba, are sent to find a new addition to David’s harem. During their search, Solomon falls in love with Shulamit, only to have her chosen as his father’s bride. Solomon is heartbroken, but Bathsheba has plans of her own.

Book Review

This is the first Roberta Kells Dorr book I have read, and I can tell you it won’t be the last. The story was riveting and kept me engaged all the way through, in fact I loved the story so much, I read the entire book in one day!

It was if I had been swept back into time, Dorr manages to make the reader feel actively engaged throughout the entire story. I felt as if I was going through the story with the characters themselves. One of the greatest love stories I have ever read, in fact I think I like Solomon and his love, better than I like Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy literarily, of course.

This book has a rare quality to it that would appeal to even the most grievous of judgers. It doesn’t deviate from Biblical facts as much as other Biblical fiction, that being said, the reader does need to remember that it is fiction, wonderfully and beautifully crafted fiction, but fiction none the less. Dorr manages to weave one of the most beloved stories in the Bible into a beautiful and romantic love story. This book will remain on my keep shelf for years to come and will be read over and over again.

FTC Disclaimer:

*** the FTC now requires book reviewers to note when they have received a book from a publisher: I received this book from Moody Publishers, but all opinions and suggestions are my own!***

Leave a Reply

